The Chambers Prize



For the paper "Fuzzy dialect areas and prototype theory. Discovering latent structures in geoIinguistic variation"
The Chambers prize, including €500, is named after Jack Chambers, one of the leading theoreticians of dialectology in the half century leading up to 2014, and is generously sponsored by Cambridge University Press. Students and scholars whose Ph.D. was earned less than three years before the Methods conference are eligible, and the award is based on the scholar's contribution in the paper at Methods, i.e., on the cogency and clarity of the argument, the importance of the issue involved, and on the innovation the paper represents.
The jury in 2014 included Peter Auer, Robert Bayley, Karin Corrigan, Marie-Hélène Coté, Jack Chambers (chair), Sheila Embleton, Dirk Geeraerts, Charlotte Gooskens, Frans Gregersen, David Heap, Nanna Hilton, Fumio lnoue, Bob de Jonge, Ruth King, Robert Moeller, Simonetta Montemagni, Naomi Nagy, John Nerbonne (secr.), Dennis Preston, Heinrich Ramisch, Piet van Reenen, Benedikt Szmrecsanyi, Clive Upton, Susanne Wagner and Malcah Yaeger-Dorr.
Degree of recognitionInternational
Granting OrganisationsCambridge University Press

Awarded at event

Event titleMethods in Dialectology XV
LocationRijksuniversiteit GroningenNetherlandsShow on map
Period11 Aug 2014 → 15 Aug 2014